Heaven is for Real

I just read the book Heaven is for Real. it took me a couple hours but i could not put it down!

I’m currently obsessed with where Jaxton is and what he felt when he left, who was the first person he saw, what will he look like, will he know me…

This book was amazing!!! (in my opinion) The first chapters felt useless at the time, like come on … get to the good stuff. But i stuck with it and i’m glad i did!

For some reason I have 2 out of body images in my mind of where I feel like Jaxton saw us from while he watched us love him into his transition into heaven. I have looked through all our photos and we have about a thousand (honestly between our friend Jessica, my camera, grandma’s cameras and the hospitals pictures) and none of them have these two particular angles looking down on Josh and I as we where holding him. I found one that was close but just not the right degree so i know I’m not just recalling a photo. I feel like I know what Jaxton saw as his last moments and that is so comforting to me.

Imagine a better dying scenario for our son to be in than in his mother’s arms and his daddy and mommy kissing him, hugging him, telling him over and over “we love you so much”, as we read Psalms 139:13 to him and tell him how perfect he is and how he is going to see Jesus and we can’t wait to see him again!

I can’t think of a better transition into heaven than that!

 

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mandy on April 7, 2011 at 9:46 am

    Heaven is beautiful. I cant wait to see our Savior face to face. I cant wait to see all of those that I love and have lost down here. God Bless hon!

    Reply

  2. This was the first book that I read after Madelyn passed away 2 months ago. Our photographer who volunteered for Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep suggested it to us when she dropped off our photos. It was just what I needed to read and provided so much comfort knowing what Heaven might feel and look like to Madelyn. I loved the part about what Jesus looks like as well!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Amber Gerhart on April 7, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    I am in the middle of reading it, and i am loving it so far. i’m currently reading 3 very different books, so i keep going back and forth. I’m getting into the really good part of it now. I am so glad they wrote a book so that it is more of a clear picture for all of us of where we are going! SUch a beautiful thing! I am sure that Jaxton is being held by Jesus and he is giggling and cooing and smiling!

    Reply

  4. I just finished reading it a couple of weeks back and was totally struck by the story when he met his sister there. Wow… I can’t wait to get there and join our kiddos that are already there… just to see them again:) I know God has plans for us mommies that are still here, but it will be a joyful reunion that is for sure. Praying for you Lisa!
    Sara

    Reply

  5. Lisa, I am so glad you thought the book was wonderful and found comfort in reading it. What a beautiful portrayal of what we have to look forward to. I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait! Prayers for you and yours, Tammi

    Reply

  6. PS I love this portrait of Jesus. AND, my favorite line in the book… He’s back, but he’s no angel. Spoken like a true sister. 😀

    Reply

  7. Posted by Cathy on April 13, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    I read this entire book (so unlike me!!)!! I loved the part where Colton sees his sister. Made me cry because I always wondered if I’d ever see the baby I miscarried! Praise God! I just hope I was right when I “KNEW” she was a girl, or I’ll have to quickly rename him since my husband and I named our little lost one. After reading it, I realized 2 of my dear friends who also lost children (one to cancer at 14 months and one to a horrible soccer goal accident at 9 years old) read it too and feel some of the same kind of relief other people are taking from this book. Lisa, I’m still praying for you even though we’ve never met. You are never far from my thoughts.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Mollie on April 15, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Hi Lisa, your website was posted on my dad’s FB site “His Nesting Place”, and I’ve been following your blogs ever since. I’ve read your entire journey with Jaxton, and my heart and prayers go out to you and your family. Thank you for being REAL and allowing us to see God at work! You’ve shown me how we can praise Him, even when the answer is No.

    I was listening to my iPod yesterday, and thought of you. It’s a beautiful song, and I hope it ministers to you and your audience in some small way. There is no professional video made of this song that I know of, but you can hear a recording of it by Mandy Mercer on Youtube.com:


    It’s very close to the original song, written and sung by Christy Nockels.

    GLORY BABY – by Nathan & Christy Nockels “Watermark”, from the album “All Things New”

    Glory baby you slipped away as fast as we could say baby… baby…
    You were growing, what happened dear?
    You disappeared on us baby… baby…
    Heaven will hold you before we do
    Heaven will keep you safe until we’re home with you…
    Until we’re home with you…

    Miss you everyday
    Miss you in every way
    But we know there’s a
    day when we will hold you
    We will hold you
    You’ll kiss our tears away
    When we’re home to stay
    Can’t wait for the day when we will see you
    We will see you
    But baby let sweet Jesus hold you
    ‘till mom and dad can hold you…
    You’ll just have heaven before we do
    You’ll just have heaven before we do

    Sweet little babies, it’s hard to
    understand it ‘cause we’re hurting
    We are hurting
    But there is healing
    And we know we’re stronger people through the growing
    And in knowing-
    That all things work together for our good
    And God works His purposes just like He said He would…
    Just like He said He would…

    BRIDGE:
    I can’t imagine heaven’s lullabies
    and what they must sound like
    But I will rest in knowing, heaven is your home
    And it’s all you’ll ever know…all you’ll ever know…

    Reply

  9. Posted by Kate on April 17, 2011 at 12:20 am

    I’m in the middle of reading Heaven, by Randy Alcorn. I think you may like it for this season of life…

    Reply

  10. This book felt like it was handed to me by my Loving Father. We lost three babies to miscarriage and it sent a thrill through me when I read about Colton meeting his sister. Heaven’s streets must be full of running, laughing children. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Thanks for lending this book to me, Lisa 🙂 I bought it for my sister-in-law. It’s one inspirational story!

    Reply

  12. Posted by Dennis Evans on May 4, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    It brought tears to my eyes, my wife had many miscarriage’s, but we have 3 beautifull adult sons, when i get to heaven i hope i also have a daughter.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Kathy Piccolotti on May 24, 2012 at 11:11 am

    I cried while reading. I am not a fan of reading, But I read this book and could not put it down. Reading this book was one of the first steps for me toward becoming Catholic. The Mist of Mercy was the first one I read. I am now enrolled in the RCIA,, and cannot wait to become closer to the Lord.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

