Friday 3:13 p.m. – Update from Josh

Jaxton is doing well!  Thank you for your continued prayers!!  God really is working and hearing your prayers!!!

Jaxton’s levels continue to improve!  He’s still hooked up to a ventilator, but he is taking some breaths on his own, which is a great sign!  He is moving more and we’re getting to know his personality a bit more!

Lisa wants to thank the entire staff here at IU North in the NICU!  They really have been incredible and gone above and beyond to help make sure Jaxton knows he’s loved.  Shari, our current nurse, made Jaxton a bracelet with his name on it and a cross.  She also made scrapbook and gave him a personalized teddy bear!  Our very first nurse, Erica, gave Lisa a book with Bible references according to theme (she’s also planning on coming to the next Vision Experience for Mercy Road!).  She had brought the book to work a week ago and hadn’t known why.  She told us she knew it was for us and she personalized the front of the book.

The nurses, respitory therapists, doctors, and surgeons have just been amazing and we’re truly thankful for each of them!!  Lisa has been praying for the nurses and doctors since we found out about Jaxton’s condition.

Jaxton is doing well please continue to pray for him.  We made a list of what to pray for in the previous post.  We’d also love if you would pray that Jaxton begins to breath completely on his own and continues to do so!  Also, pray for NO SEIZURES.  He hasn’t had any yet, but it’s a possibility with his brain issues.

Thank you all so much and we’ll try to update when we have more news!

– Josh (Lisa’s husband)

P.S. Here’s a pic from my phone of mommy and Jaxton!


47 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by April on February 25, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    Wonderful news!!! Keep fighting Jaxton!! God is working in your life!!!

    Love,
    April

    Reply

  2. Amazing news! Thanks for the updates! Please keep them coming….I am waiting on baited breath for each new piece of news. We love you all!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lauren on February 25, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    So good to hear! Continuing our prayers and thoughts.

    Reply

  4. Posted by LeAnn on February 25, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    So glad to hear that things are going well. We have kept all of you in our prayers and will continue to do so! Tell Lisa that this is one of the most beautiful pictures I have ever seen. Can you let me know what Lisa’s address is there at the hospital?

    Reply

  5. Posted by Alison Fleming on February 25, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    What wonderful news!! God is good!! Praying, praying, praying.

    Reply

  6. Posted by janet on February 25, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Such wonderful news! I don’t know either of you (except through a mutual friend), and have been following Jaxton’s story and PRAYING. What a precious, beautiful boy!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kaitlyn Kambestad on February 25, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    My eyes swell up with tears when I hear you’re fighting through this, little guy. I will continue to pray for you, and for everyone surrounding your beautiful family. You’re such a blessing, and one of the cutest babies I’ve ever seen. GO JAXTON!

    Reply

  8. Yay!! Glad to hear he’s doing some breathing on his own!! Hopefully all his numbers are looking good and we’ll continue to hear good things from you guys 🙂 I’m so so glad to hear he’s been more active and he is looking cuter by the day 🙂 We’ll keep praying – thanks so much for taking the time to update!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Audrey on February 25, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Great news! Sending prayers of healing for your sweet little boy!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Darci Wolovich on February 25, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    I know how hard it must be to take the time away from your precious little boy to keep us all updated. I am so encouraged and blessed to be given the opportunity to share his triumphs with you. It is wonderful to hear the strides he is making in just one short day. You will continue in our thoughts and prayers. I can’t wait for the update telling us he’s in the front yard playing ball with his big brother 🙂

    Reply

  11. Posted by cheryl yost on February 25, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    This is just great news!

    Reply

  12. Loved seeing the new news and Pics, what a handsome little guy. It’s a good thing they don’t see any seizures, that’s one thing that kids with Holoprosencephaly have to worry about, we are lucky and our son don’t have them, that’s one the reason he is doing so good. Will keep praying for you.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Kimberly Harris on February 25, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    Praise God for Jaxtons strength!! Continuing to lift your family, care staff and all others involved with Jaxtonup to our Mighty Savior!!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Veronica on February 25, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    We are praying here in Camarillo! Praise God for a good report this morning. May God continue to give him strength and heal his precious little body.

    Reply

  15. Posted by miranda fletcher on February 25, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    woohooo…keep on fighting jaxson and showing us what a true miricle you really are. thank you for all of the updates and the wonderful pictures…god bless and still praying for your family

    Reply

  16. Keeping you all in my prayers. He is an amazing boy and showing everyone how strong he is. God is a miracle worker and you are seeing miracles every day.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Cassi on February 25, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    Praying for you every day.

    Reply

  18. yayyyyy!!! Love hearing of the impact already on the staff. Love the pics! thanks for sharing! Prayers continue.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Ben Davis on February 25, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    So happy to hear that jaxton is improving. Fight on jaxton. Continuing to pray for you guys. Constantly thinking about jaxton and lifting him up to God.

    Reply

  20. Jaxton is just precious. What a special little guy to be lifted up, surrounded by and smothered in prayer from the time even before he was born! God must have special plans for his life and our prayer is that God strengthens you in every moment, every decision, every hardship and every joy. We pray for the time you have with Jaxton, that it will be MUCH and be very very sweet. May Jaxton keep improving and fighting against all odds. God bless you!!

    Reply

  21. This is so amazing!!!!! Continuing to pray and so glad he is improving. Every small step is a victory step. Love you guys!

    Reply

  22. Posted by Nena Amaral on February 25, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Josh,

    Thanks for updating us! Today’s picture shows a different baby than yesterday! He looks better than he did yesterday! Lisa looks so happy too! We are praising God with you!

    We are encouraged by the love you guys have been shown by your hospital’s staff and outpouring of love, Christian love, that’s overflowing there. You ARE blessed.

    We are still praying here for you, Lisa, Jake, and Jaxton!

    Love in Christ, Nena

    Reply

  23. Posted by Just Guillermo on February 25, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    Praise the Lord!

    Reply

  24. Posted by Elizabeth on February 25, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    Praying for Jaxton here in St. Louis! I have added you guys to our prayer list at church and am praying for complete healing…We serve a God who is MIGHTY TO SAVE!!!

    “The LORD your God is in your midst; a mighty one who will save;
    he will rejoice over you with gladness;
    he will quiet you by his love;
    he will exult over you with loud singing.

    –Zeph. 3:17

    Reply

  25. Posted by Stephanie Cooper on February 25, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Lisa and Josh, I’m a client of Aimee’s who was following her blog and through her’s, yours. Let me just start by saying GO JAXTON!!! What a little trooper, how amazing to hear how well he’s doing!! I’m going to keep praying for him and sending out praise for all he’s been through already. And I just wanted to share a little testimonial with you. I’ve been struggling lately, spiritually and in faith. I’ve felt like I’ve been covered in a slime and have just felt JADED. I wasn’t even sure if I believed in God, I wasn’t sure what I was doing, what I was thinking, I literally felt blind and alone. Following your blog for the last 4 weeks or so, I started to feel like I was standing on the outskirts of a waterfall and some of that slime was being rinsed off, but it wasn’t fully gone. I wasn’t ready to accept it quite yet. Monday night I was driving home from NJ and got caught in a terrible blizzard on the PA turnpike. I was driving 25 mph on a 65mph road, watching accidents happen all around me and semis lose control in the pitch black. It was literally, to date, the scariest time I’ve ever experienced. And an amazing thing happened. By pure instinct (not conscious thought, not a decision that I had to weigh), I started praying. I was praying at first for our safety and the safety of those around us. It eventually turned almost into a recitation of “Jesus Take The Wheel” by Carrie Underwood. And it flowed seamlessly into me praying for EVERYTHING, and Jaxton and the whole Hussman family was included. I felt PEACEFUL while I was praying and it helped me get my husband and me to a hotel safely. I felt like I had stepped under that waterfall and all the slime was washed away.

    I know that one of your goals Lisa has been to share your faith with the hospital staff. I pray that you have been able to touch many people there, but I thought you should know that you have truly touched me with your faith. I’m so EXCITED to start to form a relationship with God (unfortunately I have no idea where to begin, but praying is working for me now!) THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!! Jaxton is included in my daily prayers and I can’t wait to see what other progress he makes!!

    Stephanie from Ohio

    Reply

    • hey stephanie…i just saw this and i am crying tears of joy! i would love to get together with you to talk and pray! you know i am not “working” right now, so my schedule is pretty open. just let me know what works for you! love you, girl. so glad that you had the courage to share what God is doing in your life! aimee, 908-787-4134

      Reply

    • Stephanie,

      Wow this is incredible! I know Lisa and I both have prayed for Jaxton’s life to be used to glorify God. It’s awesome that such a tough situation has been used in your life and we’re so thankful it was! Thank you for your honest & heartfelt prayers for Jaxton and our family!

      Definitely take the next steps of life with Him. A call to Aimee would probably be a good start!

      Thank you!

      Josh

      Reply

  26. Posted by Dennis and Pam Pratt on February 25, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    We love to hear the good news about Jaxton. God is at work!!! Praying for all of you. Love to the entire Husmann family. Dennis and Pam

    Reply

  27. Posted by Heather on February 25, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    I have been following your blog for months now and just wanted you all to know that you have been in my heart and on my mind often. I come by every day to check and see how things are going,sometimes multiple times a day. I can’t tell you how many times I have stopped in the middle of work or at home just because I felt compelled to send up some prayer for you and Jaxton. I am so pleased to read how well Jaxton is doing and how much of a fight he is putting up! My prayers,thoughts,and love continue to be with your entire family and Jaxton’s team of medical professionals,especially right now!

    And he said, “The things which are impossible with men are possible with God”- Luke 18:27

    Reply

  28. Posted by lisa beanblossom on February 25, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    I don’t know you but your story is heart wrenching. I am praying for jaxton everyday. My heart goes out to you and your family.He is precious!

    Reply

  29. Posted by Kathi Waligora on February 25, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    Good news! Thank you for sharing. Prayers continue . . .

    Reply

  30. Posted by Gina on February 25, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    I am soooo happy to hear the awsome news! We have been praying to hear this! We sure do have an awsome God and it is showing through all of this. I hope you continue to see improvement and we will continue to pray for your awsome family!
    The Ferguson Family!

    Reply

  31. All of these of have been precious pictures.

    Reply

  32. Posted by michelle tice on February 25, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    Way to go Jaxton!!! Way to go God!!! He is such a fighter and this is all great news! God has really shown up! I am still praying!! Love you guys!

    Reply

  33. Posted by Leona on February 25, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    This is just amazing and awesome! So good to hear I’m crying with joy! Go God and go Jaxton! What a little fighter that handsome little boy is! We are continuing to pray for Jaxton’s healing and the specifics you mentioned. We’re praying for you too! Both of you are doing great and are just amazing. Much love from the Snyder Family.

    Reply

  34. Posted by Jenny Sumner on February 25, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    It’s amazing how impactful and powerful one precious life is. You can see already that Jaxton is a LIVING and BREATHING example of how God can use all situations for his glory. While I don’t know you, I’ve certainly been touched by your transparency in sharing your story, and as many others have done already I added your family to our prayer list at my church in Costa Mesa, CA. His life reminds us all to cherish every moment, and while none of us are promised another day we can have an eternal hope that lasts forever.

    Thinking about little Jaxton reminded me about something I heard a long time ago about how we’re all made, and it was so encouraging to me at the time. There is a molecule found in every single one of our cells literally binding us together called Laminin. If you look it up online it actually is a molecule shaped like a cross. God knit Jaxton together, but He is also continually holding Jaxton together and healing him by the power of the cross.

    You’re little one is surrounded by angels and the prayers of people you’ll never meet, but Jaxton’s life has touched all of us!

    Reply

  35. Posted by Tonya on February 25, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    God is at work in so many ways. Keeping Jaxton and the entire Husmann family in my thoughts and prayers!

    Reply

  36. Posted by brenda smith on February 25, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    God is so awesome. What a beautiful miracle of life little jaxton is. God bless you, Lisa and most of all little jaxton!

    Reply

  37. Dear Lisa, Josh, and Jaxton,
    Michelle and Tim Bradley and I do high school ministry together at our church, where Tim is the HS pastor.
    Michelle told me about you all, and I’ve been praying for you ever since I heard. I think your faith is incredible and inspiring to all of us who have been following your story. The truth is that it’s HIS story, and I’m so excited about what He is doing!
    Our God reigns! Thank you for letting us praise Him with you.

    Reply

  38. Posted by Christy on February 25, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    Beautiful Mommy and Jaxton!! Thank you God! Continuing to pray for your family, Jaxton’s healing and the entire staff at the hospital. My oldest son was in the NICU for one month when he was born so I know just how special those relationships are. Sending you so much love and many praises tonight! God is so good!!

    Reply

  39. Posted by Kristi on February 25, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    I have been so touched to read your story of faith, hope, and love. You have shared so much with so many people, I tear up every single time I read the prayers and replies.
    I have a 15 year old son. The night he was born, we were told he had a 10% chance for seeing the next day, and less than that for living a full year. He has had 13 surgeries, he’s an honor student in high school. He’s without pain, without equipment and without medication. God did this for us, and He alone will do this for you. Continue to praise Him through this storm, He is so faithful.
    Our son was on prayer chains in 13 states the night he was born. There was no internet then, and very few cell phones. Word travels very swiftly and so faithful are God’s people.
    My son wants other parents to know that there is so much hope. He is proof! He wants to share that with the world. That alone makes all the unknown, scary moments worth living.
    God Bless you all! We will continue to pray!

    Reply

  40. Posted by Christina on February 26, 2011 at 12:19 am

    God is listening to our prayers! God is so good~! I will continue to pray for him and all of you! Much love to all of you! The Guinn’s

    Reply

  41. Posted by Christine Martinson on February 26, 2011 at 12:21 am

    Picture the Big House (University of Michigan) football stadium being sold out…Now picture all the cheering (prayers) being sent out…There are over 123,000 people who are joining the fight for Jaxton and WE WILL WIN and the trophy goes to our KING…God Almighty!

    Reply

  42. Posted by Noelle on February 26, 2011 at 1:11 am

    Praise God! We are rejoicing with you over the progress today! We don’t know you, but heard your story through a friend. Our family has been praying for physical comfort for Jaxton, that he would wiggle for his mommy (praise God he did that today!!), and mostly, that the Lord will do something HUGE in that hospital room–that doctors & nurses would come from everywhere to see the miracle this little boy is! The Lord Almighty CAN do the impossible regardless of statistics or data. I come on here everyday to read up on his progress and continue to praise Jesus for the work He is doing in this! Jaxton, you are a fighter, & people from all around the country are praying for you!

    Reply

  43. Posted by amanda on February 26, 2011 at 3:31 am

    Just wanted to let you all know that all of you are in my familys prayers. I have read your blog to a few non Christian friends and even THEY are praying for your family! God is AWESOME and AMAZING! I and my family will continue to pray for Jaxton and your family, the nurses, and Dr.s. With all our love and Prayers, The Brownbridge Family (PFB)

    Reply

  44. […] Friday 3:13 p.m. – Update from Josh […]

    Reply

  45. Posted by Christie on February 26, 2011 at 9:38 am

    I am so excited to hear such great news! I am praying for Jaxton day and night! Plaease keep me updated. I love you Lisa!!!
    Christie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

