34 weeks {cantaloupe}

34 weeks – Size of 4 1/2 lb. Cantaloupe

 

Hey Jaxton!

You are 34 weeks now my little melon! Or at least I think you are. Last time we went to the Dr. you were measuring about 2 weeks smaller so maybe you are the size of a 3 3/4lb jicima. This has put a little kink in your due date determination for right now. I guess we might do a c-section any time between Feb 23rd and March 14th depending on the Doctors recommendation. But that’s neither here nor there. I’m  just getting so excited and so freaked out! The time has been so slow and so fast at the same time!

Daddy and I have been praying for you so much. Even Jake prays for you at bed time. And I should let you know that he is borrowing your Jaxton Owl blanket until you come. He says “Jaxton Blanket” every nap and bedtime and will cry if he doesn’t have it. He also brings me your “Jaxton Lamb” in the mornings 🙂 I know he loves you already. Can you feel his keessies on my belly? Do you hear him singing “Yes, Jesus loves Jaxton?” Can you feel him blow raspberries on you and tapping you? I really hope so. You are so loved already!

I have had so many people tell me they are praying for you! Here are 2 of my favorites:

Brian Holland – “Praying God will show up and show off!”

Kathy Roberts – “Lord, Just go crazy with miracles for this baby!”

That makes me smile!!! The response to your life has been such a blessing to us already.

*     *     *     *     *

I have noticed as I have researched Trisomy 13 these past 16 weeks, that I only come across Christ believing blogs/stories that  have chosen to carry full term… Why haven’t I found a non-christian who has also decided that a chance at life is just as special and important for their baby? … Is it a lack of hope or that the Doctors recommendation for termination is a good enough reason for them? … It really makes me wonder. Is it because many parents are convinced that children with severe genetic disorders will only know pain, and therefore choose abortion? Are they basing it on wanting a “normal” standard of life for the child? Any insight? What are your thoughts?

 

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lauren on January 19, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Congrats again on your little blessing! You know, I don’t quite understand either. I think for some, it may be fear. Others, crumble under the negativity of doctors. You are amazingly strong to me, and I am praying for you all. My son Caleb lived for 3 days, after battling many heart defects. It’s been almost 4 months since his death. We never could have terminated. Having the chance to meet him, if just for those few days, meant the world to us. God bless you.

    Reply

  2. I have a friend who said to me that “life is hard enough when you are ‘normal.’ Why would your knowingly bring a less than normal child into this world? It’s just cruel.” Trust me, I was, and still am, shocked that someone could even think that way. God knows all, He doesn’t make mistakes and every life is ordained by Him. That is why.

    God bless your little family, Lisa, and keep you well rested and strong throughout the remainder of your pregnancy.

    Reply

  3. I remember reading a lot of other blogs while I was in your shoes, and I got so much encouragement from others who were able to be positive and stay faithful throughout their entire pregnancy, delivery, time with their children, etc. The one common bond between all of those parents was that they had a strong relationship with Jesus. I never came across a positive blog of a non-Christian. They don’t really see it the same way we do because they can’t understand that the baby they are carrying is a blessing no matter what was wrong with them. I think of Psalm 139:13..”For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well… I would never in a million years even think about terminating the birth of my precious daughter..she is how God created her to be,and I am so thankful for every day I had with her. I still pray that Jaxton will be healed and that you get to enjoy many, many years of happiness with him in your family!

    Reply

  4. I found your blog from a friend and just wanted you to know that I am praying for your sweet little Jaxton. Thankful that in the midst of the storm HE is walking with you. Praying and believing with and for you from Ohio!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Chris on January 22, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    I guess I would be considered “Non-Christian”. I, however, would not terminate. I don’t feel it is my place to end a life……

    Reply

  6. Hi Lisa. I just awarded you a Stylish Blogger Award on my blog because you are showing incredible strength through your journey with Jaxton. Your words are always so encouraging and so positive. I love to read how you are enjoying every single minute you have with your beautiful little boy. We are still praying that he will be healed completely!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kristen Greene on January 26, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Hi Lisa!
    I just want you to know that you have been on my mind and heart ever since January 5 when I read about you and your precious boy, Jaxton, on my friend’s facebook wall. I’ve been praying for you and your family and especially little Jaxton …at stop lights…by my kitchen sink…praying w/ my little ones at night…while folding laundry…and many other times and moments! This past year in July, my 2 day old baby was on the brink of choking and dying when my God intervened and saved her! I believe with all my heart that God will and wants to intervene and save your little Jaxton! My heart has recently been open to and amazed at the truths of God’s healing power t/o Scripture. The Word is for us, and the message of healing and His will to heal is all throughout the Word!
    Now for the second part of why I’m writing: this may sound crazy, but I believe that the Lord wants my husband and I to come to Indy to be with you and your husband and pray for Jaxton. The Lord has been reminding me daily to contact you, and tonight I finally sat down to do it! I live in the Kalamazoo, Michigan area. I’ve shared this with some friends on our prayer team from church who may also want to and be able to come! What do you think? Would this be okay? I just believe there is power in groups and power in laying on of hands! God has the power, and we pray that He releases it upon your little one! Whatever you decide, I will be praying for his complete healing until the day he is born! Blessings to you all!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Melissa on January 29, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Lisa, When I woke up this morning, God put you and Jaxton on my mind. I spent a little over an hour reading in the bible about faith, and trying to listen to His voice. I hope and pray that you hear His voice too. I know that you already know all about faith, but God wants you to know that you and your posts are making a hugh impact on the lives of others. Stay strong and keep the faith: Faith starts with believing. God loves Jaxton more than you do! Can you imagine that? Abraham believed that God loved Isaac so much that if he sacrificed him, God would bring him back from the dead. (Genesis 22:1-18 and Hebrews 11:17-19) The second step in faith is watching, and sometimes (most of the time) waiting. While you are waiting, don’t just “hang in there” and let yourself dangle out of control. “Stand in there” and WATCH God work a miracle for you! Exodus 14:13a states ‘And Moses said to the people “Do not be afraid, STAND still and see the salvation of the Lord, which He will accomplish for you today.” 2 Conronicles 20:17a states “You will not need to fight in this battle. Position yourselves, STAND still, and see the salvation of the Lord, who is with you.” Thirdly, having faith, is being utterly amazed. When Jesus healed the paralytic not only was the man happy and glorifying God, bur so was everyone who saw it! Luke 5:26 states ‘And they were all amazed, and they glorified God and were filled with fear saying “We have seen strange things today!” I guess I’m trying to say that your faith includes believing and watching, which I know you are doing and in the end you and everyone else who is watching will be utterly amazed. God bless you and your family.

    Reply

  9. Posted by April on January 31, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    Reading the comments from others on your blog ALWAYS brings tears to my eyes. You are making Jesus smile with the Faith that you have remained in during this time in your life. You are still my inspiration and I just wanted you to know that you are doing exactly what God wants you to be doing. So many people have been given a window to how awesome our Jesus is because of you! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

