Your thoughts on Faith and Healing???


Josh and I had another interesting discussion about faith last night.  It’s become quite the hot topic with Jaxton’s medical issues. (Trisomy 13, Holoprosencephaly, Omphalocele, Single Umbilical Artery) … Will God heal Jaxton? It’s made us wonder what others think on subject.

We are looking for true honesty as we pose these question for YOU.


Should we expect God to heal Jaxton if we are praying for it?

What does it mean if we pray and God doesn’t heal?

What do you think the Bible says about being healed by faith?

Have you had any personal experiences of physical healing?

THANKS SO MUCH!

Link to Josh’s Blog.

27 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Ten Eyck on December 28, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    My husband has been dealing with medical issues himself. He has had a chronic skin ulcer for 6 1/2 years. Tons of praying have been done to ask for healing. It was just about closed when yesterday a new ulcer appeared. We often get angry with God, why hasn’t this healed completely? I would expect God to heal if we ask for it, why not? But maybe God as different plans? Maybe this chronic condition is supposed to show or teach us something? I have know idea. There are so many stories in the bible of Jesus healing people, so I try and take those stories and ask God. You healed the blind man, why haven’t you healed my husband? Why does he have to limb around all day in pain for 6 YEARS!!!! I am at a point in my faith where I don’t understand.

    Reply

    • I hear ya steph! Thanks for sharing. If only God could send down a little vile of spit for each of us… Right?!?! 🙂
      I’ll be adding your hubby to my list of people to pray for!

      Reply

    • Posted by Christie on December 30, 2010 at 7:04 pm

      Dear Lisa,

      I ask many of these questions myself on a daily basis. Even though my husband and I have no idea why Grace Marie has Trisomy 13 and several of the characteristics that come with it…We do however believe that there must be a reason why God chose us to carry her this far. I truly dont believe God did this to Grace Marie or Jaxton. I believe that since we are human we are not perfect…therefore when Grace Marie and Jaxton were concieved 3 chromosones were given to them instead of the usual 2. I believe that is when God truly decided to let us carry our special babies until he was ready to have each of them by his side in heaven. I dont think we will ever understand why until we reach the gates of heaven. I believe that when we do reach heaven, God will hand us our precious angels and will thank us for doing such an amazing job holding them for him on earth…even for the short amount of time they are here with us. I hope you dont mind me pouring my heart out to you but I wanted to send you my opinion :0) Love and hugs always!
      Christie

      Reply

  2. Posted by Hillary Witter on December 28, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    I have gone back and forth on this one many times. When I was younger, I always thought he had to answer my prayers with a yes, and do it exactly the way I asked for it. As I am growing in my faith, I have learned that he always promises to answer, but no the way we want. Sometimes a yes, No, and even a maybe.

    With both of my pregnancies, I had medical issues with too much fluid…that caused complications for myself and possible complications for the babies. I prayed to God to please take it away, but he never did…in fact the second time was worse. But I tell you I have never felt closer to God the second time around. I depending solely on him to get us thru to the end.

    My own personal story, when I was about 2 yrs old, I got sick and lost my whole left side of my body. Over time, by leg came back, but my arm never did. I am very limited with what I can do with it. I can’t lift it over my head without help from my other hand. I have learned to do things differently than others, but it has made me the person I am. I remember asking when I was little, “Why did God do this to me? Why are others normal, but I not me? My mom and dad told me that everyone has something that is wrong with them, but I wear mine on the outside and it makes me special. As a small child, that was enough. I will never understand why God gave me a weak arm, but I praise him because he gave me an arm.

    I am praying for dear sweet Jaxton, I know that God is going to use him for great things.

    Love to your family!
    Hillary

    Reply

  3. Can God heal Jaxton? Absolutely He can. This is the same God that the wind and the ocean obey. The same God that made us. Will He heal Jaxton? There is no way for us to know that. What we do know is that it has already been determined whether or not He will heal him. The hardest part of Faith is believing that no matter the outcome, His plan is perfect, even if it isn’t what our plan would have been. What does it mean if He doesn’t heal what we have prayed for? To me it means that God can see things that we can not. He knows the future and what has to happen for His plan to be perfect. I think that God wants to give us the desires of our hearts, but I also think that He knows what we need and what will give us the best future in which to serve Him. One thing is for certain, one day we will understand and know why things are the way they are for us in this life.

    Love to you and your family and I will continue to pray for the miracle of Jaxton’s healing!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Amy Poer on December 28, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    Oh such good questions, Lisa! Should we expect God to heal Jaxton?…yes. Might He do it in the present? yes. Acts 3:1-16 and 4:7-33 shows the man lame from his mother’s womb whom Peter and John healed through faith in Jesus Christ.

    Do healings like this occur today?…I believe so! Hebrews 13:8 says that Jesus is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow. He is unchanging (PTL)! So I believe that what He did in the Bible, He can and does do today too! We have a friend whose heart was fully healed w/o medical explanation. Patrick had a fever (and symptoms of strep throat) just hours before we were to fly out to Cali for our wedding (ah!)…he prayed and literally felt the Lord push the fever and illness out of him. He was good as gold and ready to leave in time to catch our flight. I’ve read and heard of many other physical healings, too!

    However, keeping an eternal perspective is important, too. God WILL heal and restore Jaxton…we just don’t yet know if it’ll be in the present or if it’ll be in eternity. One thing is certain, God will right all wrongs…He is called the Ancient of Days in Daniel 7 (vs. 9-10, 22). That title is one that means that God is judge…He will bring justice on ALL situations to ALL of His people.

    Something to ponder…what if He does not heal him in the present? This is NOT a fun question to ponder. Yet, it is important to consider. Shadrach, Meshach and Abenego are great examples of Godly men who responded to this question before enduring quite the ‘fiery trial’. In Daniel 3:17-18, they say, “If it be so, our God whom we serve IS able to deliver us from the burning fiery furnace, and He WILL deliver us out of thine hand, O king. BUT IF NOT, be it known unto thee, O king, that we will NOT serve thy gods, nor worship the golden image which thou hast set up.” (emphasis mine) Notice, they BELIEVED that God would deliver them…however, they resolved to worship Him alone even if He DID NOT deliver them.

    If He doesn’t deliver in the way we want Him to in the present….will we ‘serve the gods’ of anger, bitterness, resentment, unbelief, etc. OR will we still choose to love, obey, believe, adore, and follow Him?! Sometimes God receives greater glory through how we respond when we don’t get what we’ve asked…

    Oh Lisa, may God deliver this precious Jaxton from the womb and allow him to live a healed life here on earth (as the lame man was healed in Acts 3)!!! Yet, may we praise God that he WILL BE HEALED no matter what…whether on this side of heaven or not, he will be eternally healed…and YOU WILL GET TO BE WITH HIM in the presence of the Lord FOREVER! PTL!!!! Oh sweet sister, my heart cries out with you!!!

    Bless you!!!

    Love,
    Amy

    Reply

  5. Posted by Adrienne Ewers on December 28, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Hello my friend . . .

    I have been following your blog regularly and I am continously amazed by you and your strength and your faith. I think of you often as I am a mommy to three small boys and the closest I have come to a scare is a double eye surgery procedure my four year old had to endure . . . I thought my world was crashing around me then for something so very small. I cannot imagine what you are going through. THe love a parent has for their child, from the moment you know of their existence is the most powerful thing I know I have ever experienced. All you desire is for good health and their safety and happiness.
    It is funny you make mention of this topic as I was JUST with my sisters hours ago and we brought up this same topic. Exact thing. I was telling them about this powerful blog that I cannot get out of my mind. I came across it from a fellow user on FB who posted prayer requests for this family. I tried to send the blog to you a few weeks ago since I know you are going through something similar to this family and I thought you would be able to find strength and familiarity through this mans faith in the Lord. Please check it out.

    lothblogs.wordpress.com

    As far as my opinion . . . I have always considered myself a Christian and a believer in God. But it has only been this year that I have truly sought out the Lord and begun reading the Bible and searching for a true relationship with Him. That being said . . . what do I really know? I know I cannot yet offer verses and loads of experience on this topic. What I BELIEVE, through my amateur readings and knowledge that you must pray to God to heal Jaxton since He is the only one that can heal him. No doctor or machine can heal as the Lord can. But at the same time, God has already set in motion a plan for your family and He already knows the outcome. And even if he does not do as we EXPECT him to because we did all the right thing on our part, it does not mean that He is not there and you should lose faith.
    My heart aches for your pain. Oh I pray the outcome is the same as you pray. Your oldest son is so very lucky to see a true example of faith and strength every single day through his Mommy and Daddy.
    Much Love Lisa,

    Adrienne

    Reply

  6. Posted by Dave on December 28, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    I believe Jesus answers some of your questions in the garden:

    Matthew 26:39 Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”
    42 He went away a second time and prayed, “My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.”

    I look at Jesus in the garden pre-crucifixion. Was he wasting his time asking for another way? (may this cup be taken from me)

    I don’t believe Jesus was confused, delusional, or dishonest in his request, even if somehow he perhaps knew it was unlikely that there was another way, somehow he was “fully human” enough to earnestly ask for another solution.

    Should we expect God to heal Jaxton if we are praying for it?
    Did Jesus expect God to find another way? My answer is yes! I think Jesus earnestly thought God might find another way. Jesus believed what he was asking for, even though it might be accomplished. Otherwise how can we understand what his prayer request meant?

    What does it mean if we pray and God doesn’t heal?
    It means “your will be done”. Him not healing is the worst outcome we can possibly imagine, but it can be the case that it is God’s will. God is primarily concerned with our individual sanctification, out of his never-ending, inconceivable, awesome love for us he is preparing us for eternity, and he will stop at nothing to make us the best we can be for when we get there! Even if he has to take away that which seems most precious to us.

    What do you think the Bible says about being healed by faith?
    I link back to the Shadrach post above, God can, but if he doesn’t he is still just. God’s mysteries cannot be perceived, his ways aren’t ours.

    Have you had any personal experiences of physical healing?
    I am sure I have and not known it, I imagine much like the “footsteps” story, we will find God was much more intimately participating in our lives then we give him credit for. But I have seen him work through other miracles and even disappointments in my life outside of physical healing.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Lisa Patterson on December 28, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Hi Lisa and Josh. Your questions are deep and very thought provoking and I feel your heart longing for answers that really only God will reveal to you in His own special way. What I can offer to you is my prayers and what God has taught me through losing my precious son Anthony.
    Should we expect God to heal Jaxton if we are praying for it? I believe God wants you to expect it because you know who He is and all that He is able to do. The question that I wrestled with for so long when Anthony was killed was, “Why would you allow this to happen before I my eyes were able to see what I had been praying for for so many years”. As I shared with you both Anthony had been struggling with addiction problems off and on again for so long. I spent such a great deal of time on my knees, begging God to set him free. I saw many times that it looked as if he had completely overcome his addiction; only to be devastated when he relapsed. In my mind, I had a picture of what it would look like; Anthony free from drugs and free to love and worship Jesus for the rest of his life. He was doing very well for the last few months of his life and I only found out after he died that during the last 2 weeks; he relapsed again. When it all caught up with me; for a brief moment, it felt like the enemy had won this spiritual battle. But God, being so faithful, reminded me that my mothers prayers did not fall on deaf ears. I believe that God answered them; just not in the way that I had expected nor wanted. But He has done some amazing things in my own heart and life through the tragedy. I now live with such a longing for home and my thoughts are far more eternal bound than ever. I long for the day to see my son again, but I also live with a certain excitement of what’s to come for us that believe in Jesus.
    However God chooses to heal precious Jaxton is completely in His hands. He loves your prayers and wants you to continue. I have heard many stories of God’s healing in miraculous ways, so you both, keep praying and know that others love you and will continue to pray with you.

    What does it mean if we pray and God doesn’t heal?
    This question reminds me of my own journey of God developing my faith through having my two oldest sons struggle with addiction? I kept thinking that God’s answer would be dependent on how faithful I was in my prayers. In other words, if God never answered the way that I expected Him to, well, would that mean that I failed in having enough faith? God allowed me to grow through wrestling with these type of questions. The answer that He gave me was that “My faith needed to be in God, not in an outcome.” If He allowed me to go through somethings that I would have gladly bypassed, It was only because He planned to use those things in my life.” He has taught me a lot but the greatest lesson is that His grace is truly sufficient for whatever we face in this life. When our hearts break, He is there and allows us to know that beyond explanation.
    God is with both of you and will continue you to provide for all of your needs. Your family is precious to Jesus and His love goes far deeper than our minds can comprehend. Trust Him to know and accomplish His best in your life. I had to learn that God did not cause the pain that we have to endure; a sinful world caused it. But God continues to reach out to us each day and He offers us Himself to carry our pain and He gives us hope, renewed energy, comfort and strength for all that we endure. I agree with your friend-God will heal Jaxton in His own precious way.

    What do you think the Bible says about being healed by faith?
    That’s a tough question. God is able to do far exceedingly more than we can ask or imagine. The Bible is full of healing and so we continue to lift up baby Jaxton to the great healer. I love the verse that says, “Without faith it is impossible to please God. But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt because he who doubts is like a wave being tossed about by the wind.” Keep asking in faith sweet Lisa and Josh and leave the rest to our God.

    Have you had any personal experiences of physical healing? Yes, he is healing the mom’s broken heart each day and filling me with a bright hope for the future. He allows me to share in other’s pain whereas before, I couldn’t fully understand. He is doing that for you both also. I love you both and am very thankful God crossed our paths last 4th of July to get to know each other a little better. God has a tremendous plan for you both and your family. Believe that and know that and cling to that with all that you have. He is everything to us and when we need Him most; He is there. He knows your heart, He feels your pain and He will be your victor!
    Much love to you and your family. Love Lisa

    Reply

  8. Posted by Amanda Mote on December 28, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    I believe that God CAN heal if he wants to. I have a condition that will not go away (bipolar disorder) we can only mask it with several different medications and pray that it keeps me sane. The last 6 years I have begged and pleaded for God to take the cup he has given me. I’ve finally accepted that he’s not going to…for some reason he needs me to walk these valleys. For some INSANE reason, he thinks I’m strong enough to handel it…I question him often 🙂 I HATE it, and sometimes when I’m ill I’ll even say things to God that I really don’t mean. I would love to see God’s healing of Jaxton…just to show me that he really is listening… because sometime, I too lose hope and question.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Tim Long on December 28, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Should we expect God to heal Jaxton if we are praying for it?

    You should expect and know that God has the ability to heal Jaxton, although just because you are praying for it doesn’t mean that it is going to happen. Don’t expect the healing, but expect that God is capable of healing Jaxton.

    What does it mean if we pray and God doesn’t heal?

    If God chooses to not heal Jaxton, is first and FOREMOST ISN”T a punishment to you and Josh! It just means that God knew that it was possible for you two to handle the emotions that go along with losing a child. This does NOT mean you two did anything wrong or didn’t trust God enough. 1 Corinthians 10:13 states that He will not give us more than we can handle….true it is talking about temptation, but you would be lying if you didn’t at some point feel tempted to wonder about the “what if’s” of not being healed. Resist the tempatation to go through the “what if’s” and KNOW that we serve a God who wants to know that we trust Him wholeheartedly. does wavering happen, absolutely, but we are not defined by how much we wavered, but rather by how much we finished strong.

    Secondly, you never will know what ways God will use this testimony to help/encourage/save someone in the future. I know a couple at Crossroads who were pregnant with a little boy named Corbin….Corbin had a condition which left his bones unable to grow and fuse together. Basically every bone in his body was broken and he had a couple other complications as well. The Drs. tried to convince my friends that it was better to abort this boy than “deal with” the challenges. Not only that but they were told that their next pregnancy(ies) would have a 75% chance of having the same condition. They refused to give up, and shifted the prayers into overdrive that God’s will be done and that they not have to decide the outcome. At 8 months pregnant the drs. told them that if they proceeded the mom and baby would probably both die and suggested inducing labor before it was too late. The parents did and were able to hold little Corbin for 4 minutes until God took him home.

    Before the couple was even married they prayed that God do whatever it took to save souls through their marriage even if it meant losing everything. To many people they did lose everything, their only son and only child. Two weeks after Corbin’s memorial service and ceremonies were completed my friend got to baptized his Dad AND Brother into Christ. Not only that, but they now have a 2 month old healthy baby boy named Carter! They allowed what many would see as an excuse to give up on God and their faith to make their faith even stronger and bring others to Christ.

    What do you think the Bible says about being healed by faith?

    You guys know all the stories about healing, Lazarus, the bleediing woman, the blind man in Luke 18 (“your faith has made you well”) was said many times, the mans daughter in Mark 5 etc. It’s real, it happens end of story. Don’t forget though that just because you have the faith doesn’t mean there will be healing.

    Have you had any personal experiences of physical healing?

    I have had experiences on both ends of the spectrum with healing and without healing. First without healing:

    My Grandpa Long died of cancer at the age of 55 when I was 6 months old. My family prayed for healing but within weeks of being diagnosed he was gone. Prayer went to God like there was no tomorrow. My family had the faith God could heal him. Do we hold it against God no, because God knew what He was doing. Our son Micah Leland Long wouldn’t have his middle name if it weren’t for my Grandpa passing away and me longing to have a relationship with someone name Leland Long, and continue the legacy of Godly men he began.

    Now with healing. My nephew Isaiah was born dec 24th 2007 with a collapsed lung and pneumonia IN KENYA OF ALL PLACES. Those three factors don’t make for a good outlook. The Drs. didn’t give him much of a chance to live. Isaiah was on life support for the first 10+ days of life. My family and friends prayed like crazy through the tears and reality that we may never meet Isaiah. We knew God had the power to heal, but didn’t know if that would be God’s will in this case. Isaiah is now a 3 year old boy and as healthy as can be.

    In some ways I can relate to what thoughts you both are thinking because I too wondered if I’d ever see my nephew alive in person, or if I’d ever get to hear him giggle, or run around with him when he’d be old enough to. I however greatly differ because it was my nephew not my son.

    I am sorry that this is so lengthy, but know this: the faith of a mustard seed can move a mountain, God is just asking you and Josh, “Do you trust Me?” and most of all you are loved more than you will ever know.
    If you need anything, please don’t hesitate to let us know. Granted, we are not in Indiana, but that doesn’t matter. I’m proud of you two and how much you are asking for input and advice and seeking to stay as strong in Christ as possible through this challenging time. If prayers can be heard around the globe to ask for God’s will for my nephew, then surely my prayers for God’s will are going to stretch from California to Indiana.

    God Bless!
    -Tim Long

    Reply

  10. Posted by just Guillermo on December 28, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    Will God heal Jaxton? Nothing is impossible for Him. The issue is: Is that His plan? Just how intricate and unexplainable are his ways that we can only submit and obey. Not easy at all, but your purpose and Jaxton’s are higher than most of ours obviously; and that requires extreme faith that He can only give you. Both of you have touched so many lives with your situation that is clear God is working on you in an extreme way as well. I have no words to express how much I respect you and admire you. My prayers go up every morning for Hia Holy Spirit annoint you with strenght, comfort and wisdom. Love in Christ Jesus.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Michelle on December 29, 2010 at 12:03 am

    Lisa and Josh…

    I have thought and thought and prayed and prayed about your questions all day. Since I read your blog this morning Lisa, I have not been able to get it off my mind. I wanted to comment, but wasn’t sure exactly what to say. Then, when I logged into face-book this evening, I had a message from you to please respond to your blog. So, I came back to your blog and noticed you had 11 comments now and one of them was even my sister. 🙂 I thought, “well, those are all great comments, what else could I possibly add”. But for some reason, God will not allow me peace until I comment on your questions. While I agree with what most everyone has said, and it is all great advice and right on with God’s Holy Precious Word, there are two things I would like to add.

    One, is to truly find the answers to these questions as they pertain to you and your particular situation, you must personally seek out and search God’s word (which I am sure you have done) and wait for Him to speak to you through His Word. I heard a famous speaker/author say one time that she NEVER acts on or reacts to a situation without an answer from God in His Word. She said without fail, He has provided one every time. Maybe not in the time frame she was hoping for, but He always delivered. God’s Word is so vast. I have always heard people say that they can read a verse that they have read 1,000 times and God will reveal something new to them in that verse that He has never revealed before and when I experienced it for myself, I was almost dumbfounded. I say that to say, the answers you are looking for may not be in the typical verses you would think to look for these answers in. They may be somewhere you least expect them to be…and isn’t that just how our God works?

    Second is…my daddy told me once that God allows difficult things to happen to special people. Chosen especially by Him, to carry burdens of His purpose to accomplish His great will. And these people are chosen by Him because He trust them with the burdens. (We had lost a family member…my youngest step-brother, my step-mom’s son…and I was struggling to understand why it happened and why my poor step-mom was having to suffer so much…this was in 2002)At the time, when my dad said this to me, I didn’t feel the total affect of his statement. It has only been over the years, as I have watched different people in my life, people really close to me, suffer in horrible ways with different things. When I couldn’t explain or understand why, my dad’s voice would come back to me and I would see God working in my heart to help me understand that these people that I love, He loved to. But, not only loved, trusted, to carry out His will. I have watched these people, my sister recently being one of them, change lives and hearts of others with their faith through their suffering. My sister made the statement recently that if one life was brought closer to God because of her suffering then it was worth it! That is what it is all about!! His purpose, His kingdom, His will! Your suffering will not be in vain. Jaxton’s precious, beautiful life…no matter the length… will not be in vain, God promises! And you are a TRUSTED servant of the KING!!!

    Praying for you and Forever His,
    Michelle Tice

    Reply

  12. Posted by Lisa on December 29, 2010 at 12:07 am

    Dear Lisa..
    First of all. YES.. YES.. YES.. you can truly expect God to heal Jaxton, we don’t know what kind of healing it will be..We do not know or understand God’s plan, but HE does.
    What does it mean if we pray and God does not heal?
    That is what I thought when my grandson was born. My daughter found out at 18 weeks that her baby may have a heart defect, with more extensive testing the next day, they found out he did have a heart defect and down syndrome, we went thru the rest of the pregnancy praying for healing. I know God can do anything. Evan (my grandson) was delivered at Children’s Hos. OC with a full team of heart Dr’s and nurses in the room.God delivered Evan to us with a oxygen rate of 86%, they were ready to run him into surgery, they thought his heart rate would be dangerously low. They also thought the machines were broke. I remember the Dr. saying”there is no way this boy has 86% oxygen”Evan’s heart was strong enough to wait on surgery for 4 months.
    To answer the question, what if we pray and God does not heal? Lisa I spent the rest of her pregnany praying for Evan to not have downs… When he was born, we were so thrilled for his heart. But my heart was broken, God did not heal him!
    I was on my way home talking to my dear sister in law, I was crying telling her I wanted/needed a miracle…. She told me.. You got a miracle, his heart is beating. I have never forgotten those words. We will never know God’s exact plan’s.
    God has plans for you and your family, Your dear family has touched so many, and brought many many people their knee’s in prayer.
    What does the bible say about healing?
    FAITH… that’s what I live by.
    Sorry this is so long, wanted to share Evan’s story with you.
    You and your family are in my prayers always…

    Reply

  13. Posted by Kathy Roberts on December 29, 2010 at 12:42 am

    I love everyone’s responses. I can’t add that much, but I have witnessed a miraculous healing.
    My sister was finally pregnant after 5 years of trying and one devastating miscarriage. At 18 weeks, she was told that it was a girl…but that there was something terribly wrong with her heart. They diagnosed her with a heart condition that was irreversible and that would cause her baby girl to need a pacemaker from the moment of birth- but that was only if she made it to full-term, which was deemed highly unlikely.
    They shared with everyone that this baby would be named Chloe Arabella (meaning a gift from God).
    She went to Chuck and Pam and some others and they fervently prayed for healing over Chloe.
    It was only about a month later that she went to the doctor and got a surprising reaction. The doctor was in shock and said that she had NEVER seen this and actually even said that this could have only been an act of God (she asked if my sister had been praying)… Chloe’s heart was shockingly 100% normal. She not only went to full term but had a very healthy baby girl who is now almost 2 years old- with NO health problems.
    We stand in awe of this God who loves this way and does still do miracles.
    The thing that I am learning, though, is that the journey that we experience along the way is in itself miraculous when we choose to focus fully on God and walk it with HIM. My sister truly experienced GOD- and by this, she was changed.
    It seems that YOU are experiencing this, Lisa. It’s pretty amazing. I continue to pray for you to witness healing and multiple miracles.
    Love you!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Haley Stellwag on December 29, 2010 at 2:07 am

    Lisa, you and Josh show extreme faith and strength when it comes to hoping for a miracle for Jaxton. I really admire you both for this. I remembered a video I once watched in nursing school, and it really touched my heart. I will warn you, it is a tear jerker. I think it might help you see that God can reveal himself through any circumstance, any life, and I think he will through your faith and trust you have in him. This video shows miracles are possible. I believe we have to look at our blessings through his eyes in order to see what all he has given us(like these parents did). You and Jaxton have made it so far! Keep praying Lisa, and I will as well.

    Reply

  15. Lisa, I hope that you and Josh had a good Christmas and that you all were able to enjoy the gifts of Advent, despite what must be a difficult time of waiting and wondering. I am completely confident that one day Mercy Road will grow into a church renowned for the Lord’s name, and I am also completely confident that you two are the best possible people to serve Him in this particular context. Despite the fact that in many ways we do not know you two very well, we feel quite the opposite. I look forward to one day serving and reconnecting with you both. Until then, we will continue to pray for your ministry, church, and family.

    But on to your question.

    In January 2000, I was supposed to be dead in 24 months. Yet here I am, writing a blog comment, in the midst of planting a church. We certainly sought the Lord and prayed for healing. And I have no doubt that He delivered. But it was different than many stories I hear. There was no miraculous moment. It was slow and steady; I got a little bit better every day for years. Now I am apparently healed. I give the Lord all the glory and credit for that miracle.

    Simultaneously, one of my friends had a small child born with a heart defect. He was, in my mind, the most Godly person I knew. His daughter was born and needed a heart transplant. They waited for six months, finally received the transplant, and then the child’s body rejected the heart. She was dead soon thereafter. It was puzzling. People from literally all over the nation were praying, yet she was not spared.

    And, for some reason, I was.

    I have spent countless hours attempting to reconcile those events. Two people got sick; lots of people prayed; one got well, and one didn’t.

    In the face of this, I have recognized that in some odd way, we find comfort in the sovereignty of our Lord. He is above all of this. Certainly medicine and doctors are viable and real. And certainly our life choices make differences.

    But just as certainly, in fact even more so, God stands over all of this in a way that I am not able to yet comprehend.

    And perhaps I never will.

    I know this: The Lord is good. I also know this: He does good.

    I do not know what this means for Jaxton. But I do know this: If you and Josh trust in His goodness, then you should pray believing and hoping that He will heal your son. If He does, then praise Him in His goodness. If he does not, then praise Him for His goodness, anyway; if He is not healed you will need the Lord more than ever at that moment.

    Either way, the goodness of God is not compromised. And, either way, God has seen it fit to choose you to walk this road of mercy, for He believes that this situation will, in some way, make you more like Christ. That is, after all, our purpose and His purpose in our lives.

    We love you both.

    Reply

  16. I prayed so hard for Aubree to be healed of all of her problems that came as a result of the Trisomy 18..The part that really didn’t make sense to me was that she died from a cord accident..The Trisomy 18 is what was supposed to be her death sentence..I know that my prayers were not answered, but I also wondered why I should be the lucky one if they were answered when so many other people have to face their children dying every day..I also got really frustrated when reading through Matthew when everyone that Jesus came across was healed..why couldn’t it be the same way now?? I do know that Aubree was not healed for a reason..what that reason is I have no idea right now. I do know that she has taught me so much about life, love, my faith, etc. I look at everything differently now, and I am a different person. I believe that God is in control, and He knows what He is doing even if it doesn’t make sense to us right now. We just have to trust that this is His plan for our lives, and we must accept the challenges that He sets forth for us. That doesn’t mean that we can’t be angry, sad, etc. though. I continue to pray for Jaxton’s healing and for your family as you navigate this difficult road..I can remember being in your shoes so vividly, and I don’t wish that on anyone..Just know that no matter what you are not alone and God will provide whatever you need..

    Reply

  17. John 14:14 You can ask me for anything in my name and I will do it.

    Matthew 18:20 For where two or three come together in my name, there am I with them.

    Keep praying, I will keep praying and I know you have so many people from all over the world praying. All asking the same thing in Jesus sweet, sweet name.

    Jaxton’s story isn’t finished. Your story isn’t finished.

    Jeremiah 29:11
    “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

    I saw this on TV the other day… I thought of you when it aired. http://www.cbn.com/700club/features/amazing/Gaines-122110.aspx

    God is truly good and I will keep praying for you and for Jaxton!

    Reply

  18. Lisa, just wanted you to know I posted, a very looong comment (sorry) on your husbands blog. I just wanted you to know I posted it on there.. if you wanted to see it as well… Praying for your precious mommy heart and of course for sweet Jaxton! Wow, 21 weeks, what a gift from God Jaxton is!!
    Sara

    Reply

  19. Posted by Kristi on December 31, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Lisa (and Josh),
    I’ve thought about these questions a lot in the last few days, trying to figure out how to put some of those thoughts succinctly. One thing Duff said when I asked him about it seemed like a helpful way to put it-he said that it’s inconsistent to believe that God is powerful enough to heal Jaxton completely and not consider that he might also have reasons beyond our comprehension for not doing so. Kind of a “His ways are not our ways and his thoughts are not our thoughts” kind of thing (Isaiah 55:8-9). That’s a difficult thing to swallow, but I think that’s part of what it looks like to be finite beings serving an infinite God. There are things that we wouldn’t be capable of understanding, even if he revealed them to us. He is that much bigger. Along with that, how amazing is it to serve a God who CAN heal? Because he is Lord, we have a sense of hope at all. So we praise him because he can, hoping that he does, praying earnestly that he does, but recognizing that even if he doesn’t, he’s worthy of praise.

    Not that any of our emotions will immediately fall in line if Jaxton isn’t healed. The Lord knows that too. Look at the Psalms!

    But scripture is clear that we are to pray, and that we are to bring our petitions to the Lord (Phil 4:6-7), and that in and through that, eventually “And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

    So we will continue to pray and pray and pray for your family and for Jaxton’s healing.

    Reply

  20. Posted by maureen hindman on December 31, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    Lisa and Josh,
    Wow, little Jaxton has already done so much in other people’s hearts without even saying a single word!!! I do beleive God heals as others have stated and that we cannot understand why God touches some with his miraculous healing and chooses not to heal others. I also think that we need to remember that each of us are made in God’s image(Gen:1 27)including Jaxton. Jaxton may not be the image of God that we all think we are made to look like but Jaxton is the image of God we should all strive to look like each day. Jaxton is doing the Lord’s work in so many ways. He is doing this without being proud, without speaking, and without even breathing on his own because he is still snuggled up in your womb. I will continue to pray for healing and to pray for each of you. Continue to lean on Jesus and each other. Praise God for Jaxton!

    Reply

  21. Posted by Paula on January 1, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    You ministered at my home church 🙂 PFB, which is so close to my eart. I believe that God heals even those who do not believe or pray! It’s God that does the healing and our faith allows us to be involved in His will. Whether or not he heals Jaxton physically, He has created him perfectly and has given you the faith to share your story, to not give up and the faith to love Jaxton and accept God’s will for his little life. It is definitely not wrong to pray for healing! Even Jesus asked for deliverance from the cross! It IS wrong to beat yourself up for lack of faith if God chooses not to heal! Bless you for sharing your journey! God has used this precious little boy already to touch lives. Praying in Canada. And bless you for being thankful!

    Reply

  22. Posted by Ruth Schweigert on January 3, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    God does answer prayer but not always as we want him to! God doesn’t make “mistakes” (as Nick Vujicic says -I love to listen to him speak!) and I believe that the struggle we all have in our lives have a purpose. I always say, I wish God didn’t trust me so much! Jaxton has been sent with a purpose and is God’s creation just as he is! Look at what he has accomplished already! I continue to pray for your family on this journey with Jaxton! God bless!

    Reply

  23. Hi Lisa / Josh,
    I was trying to read through all the comments before responding (while on vacation) but it was looong (nice) …and also I guess I was avoiding responding in avoidance of the honesty part… but here I am.
    I often think, when reflecting on spiritual gifts, that neither intercessory prayer nor faith are my particular gifts. Well, I have unshakable faith in God, but I don’t tend to expect miracles. So I don’t come from the most hopeful place on this subject in general, which makes me not want to write back. But you asked for honest, and you asked me specifically, and I am your friend. So here’s what I truly believe:
    I believe God is selective in answering prayers for miracles, and I think his determining factor is that He gets involved where intercession will impact the grand story of salvation, whether directly (someone comes to faith as a result) or indirectly (such as in the OT when God hardened King Saul’s heart, resulting in David becoming King, being a part of the line of Christ – that sort of thing). When He was bodily on earth, his healings demonstrated that He was the true God and Christ, setting the groundwork for salvation for not only that generation but thousands of generations to come. It is just too hard for me to look at all of the incredible grief of this world and think otherwise, or to try to rationalize why God, who is the embodiment of Love, would be selectively silent to preventing the pain of those He loves. To intervene at all times would also interrupt the story of salvation, as people would come to God for the easy life, rather than for the love of Him, and free will would be constantly thwarted… But this is more my reasoning than something I can definitively point to from Scripture, so I need to be cautious in what I say.
    But I do believe that where he has designed to constrain himself, he has not done so unfeelingly or flippantly, but in His wisdom, and in the grand scheme of things, in ways we don’t understand, in Love. And I truly believe he weeps, even sobs, for us in our pain. I have more thoughts on the subject, but that’s the basic answer.
    As to the very pointed question of will God heal Jaxton? No one can answer. I honestly do not know. We are to pray in faith and pray in accordance to the will of God. I honestly believe he might. I have no idea how God plans to use Jaxton’s precious life beyond how he already has. (BTW to clarify, I don’t believe God designs evil to use for good, but that evil exists due to the fall of this world from His paradise, and the designs of Satan, while the world awaits his final and complete redemption.) I do know Jesus taught us to pray and petition Him, and the Bible even gives us example of how man’s pleading changed his mind (such as with Sodom / Gomorrah), so I will continue praying with you!
    Much love,
    Debbie

    Reply

  24. Posted by Trisha on January 13, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    Lisa,
    I’m sorry it has taken me so long to respond, but you and your family have definitely been on my heart and in my prayers. I believe, yes, you should expect God to heal Jaxton if that is what you are praying for. Your next question, about what if you pray and God doesn’t heal… God promises to heal everyone. The hard part to understand is that all things are in His timing. I know without a shadow of a doubt that God is going to heal Jaxton. Yes, it would be amazing for Jaxton to be healed, physically here on earth, and yes, God is definitely capable. The question is whether it is God’s plan for Jaxton to be healed here on earth, or in heaven with Him. I know your hearts desire, Lisa, and so does God. It is definitely ok to ask God of your hearts desires, but we also need to be ok with trusting His plan. I know, it is much easier said than done. : ) As far as what the bible say about healing. You definitely know much more than I do on this topic, and have actually taught me a lot in the verses you post, so i feel a little funny telling you what the bible says aout healing. : ) I know, the faith of a mustard seed can move mountains (which your faith has already done). I have to tell you, Lisa, one morning, I was praying for you and the healing of Jaxton. I was praying as I was doing things around the house. As I started praying, I felt the Holy Spirit come upon me very strongly. I stopped what I was doing, and felt the Holy Spirit praying through me. I have never experienced prayer in that way before, and it was truly amazing. God is truly at work, and I know He has amazing plans for you and your family!!! I love you, Lisa!

    Reply

    • Oh my goodness Trisha! thanks for letting me know about your wonderful prayer experience!!! That’s so AWESOME! I hope I can have an experience like that someday! Thanks friend for keeping our family and Jaxton in your prayers. Thanks for believing in a Healing God with us!
      Love,
      Lis

      Reply

Leave a Reply

